#### **SUPPLEMENT TO ITEM 4 – MINUTES**

## **Sunderland City Council**

At a meeting of SUNDERLAND CITY COUNCIL held in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, CITY HALL on WEDNESDAY 14 JUNE 2023 at 4.00pm

### **Outstanding Motions from the last ordinary meeting of the Council**

#### (iii) Lease over Site of the Seaburn Inn

Councillor Mullen, duly seconded by Councillor Hartnack, moved the following motion: -

"In 2021 Siglion Developments LLP granted a lease over the site of the Seaburn Inn to Inn Collection (Seaburn) Limited for a term of 999 years. The premium paid by Inn Collection (Seaburn) Limited was £1,000.

The duty under s.123 of the Local Government Act 1972 to obtain 'best value' only applies to local authorities, meaning Siglion is only required to meet a minimum land receipt requirement which formed part of the option agreement made between the Council and Siglion in 2014.

#### Council therefore:

- Expresses regret that a prime parcel of land formerly owned by the Council was disposed of for £1,000.
- Takes note of the relationships between the Council and the private sector organisations involved in disposing of the land.
- Resolves to commission an independent review of all disposals made under the 2014 option agreement where the sum paid for a freehold or long leasehold interest in land was less than £100,000. Terms of reference will include the extent to which the assumptions made by valuers instructed by the Council were realistic, and whether sufficient efforts were made to obtain 'best value'."

Upon being put to the vote the Motion was defeated with 23 Members voting in favour: -

Councillors	Ayre	Donaghy	Hartnack	Reed
	Bond	Dunn	Johnston, S	Smith, G
	Burnicle	Edgeworth	McDonough	Vera
	Crosby	Fagan	Mullen	Walton
	Curtis	Gibson	Nicholson	Wood
	Dixon	Graham-King	Peacock	

# and 34 Members voting against.

The Mayor (Councillor D Trueman)
The Deputy Mayor (Councillor A Chisnall)

Councillors	Ali	Foster	Mason-Gage	Stewart
	Blackburn	Guy	Miller, F	Thornton
	Burrell	Haque	Price	Trueman, H
	Butler	Hunter	Scott	Tye
	Chapman	Jones	Smith, A	Usher
	Chequer	Laverick	Smith, P	Walker, M
	Dodds	Laws	Snowdon, D	Williams
	Fletcher	Leonard	Snowdon, D E	Wilson

(Signed) D TRUEMAN Mayor