Motions on Notice

MOTIONS ON NOTICE

Council Members are asked to consider the under-mentioned Motions:-

1. Reform of Rent Charges

This Council notes the unequal status of rent charge payers compared to that of other freeholders or leaseholders. It recognises the potential for their exploitation by unscrupulous rent charge holders.

The Council agrees to develop a strategy to ensure that: (i) any rent charges introduced, acquired or managed by this Council and/or any of its wholly owned companies, joint ventures or any other delivery vehicles or organisations treat residents fairly and proportionately; and (ii) wherever possible residents subject to rent charges are able to have assets and services adopted by and provided by the Council for which they pay Council Tax.

The Council also asks the Chief Executive to lobby the Government, and ask local Parliamentarians to do likewise, to request amendments to legislation in order to reform rent charges. These reforms should include:

- In all future developments any rent charges should be set by and paid to a company limited by guarantee and owned by the residents.
- In existing developments, following a ballot from residents in which a majority agree, a company limited by guarantee owned by the residents shall be formed. The company's purpose will be to purchase the rent charge holders interest and to be paid rent charges by the residents.
- Where residents of existing developments vote against forming a company limited by guarantee they shall be protected by amendments to section 120-122 Law of Property Act 1925, so that:
 - A defaulter must be informed in writing of the arrears at the time and before any legal action.
 - Any action must be through the courts, with the charge payer having the right to contest the level of the charge or the standard of the service provided by the charge holder.
 - All charge holders and their agents must be registered and bound by a Code of Conduct
 - Charge payers must be informed of the names and business address of the charge holder and his agents. If the charge holder is a company or trust then the names and business addresses of the Secretary, Directors or Trustees must be provided.

Councillor P.W.L. Gibson (Proposer) Councillor M. Haswell (Seconder)

Signed by:-Councillor N. Hodson Councillor M. Crosby Councillor J. Potts Councillor P. Edgeworth Councillor H. Fagan

2. Working to achieve a greater policing outcome for Sunderland

This Council notes

- the Northumbria Police Force has seen its budget slashed by the Government in the name of Austerity by more than 31% between 2010/11 and 2018/19 and by March 2020 the annual cut in its budget amounted to over £144m pounds.
- the recent change of heart by government to fund additional police officers across the country but recognising Northumbria Police still continues to have a shortfall in officer numbers.
- the reduction in police numbers over this period have come at a time when expectations from local residents have increased, especially relating to police action to reduce Anti-Social Behaviour.

This Council recognises that Northumbria Police no longer have the resources to achieve all of the expectations demanded by local residents and that we can achieve much more by working in partnership with them and other stakeholders in this city, to reduce crime and the fear of crime.

We therefore call upon the Council to work jointly with Northumbria Police

- in supporting a permanent police presence in Washington, Coalfield and Sunderland City Centre that can be accessed by local residents
- to expand the successful SARA project based in Southwick to many other parts of the city
- to review how we can support the police through increased surveillance of anti-social behaviour hot spots via more CCTV, purchase and use of drone technology, together with a dedicated mobile traffic unit for our 20/30mph zones
- to produce an annual 'Respect Plan' for the City, detailing how the council and its partners will work collaboratively to tackle crime and the fear of crime.

Councillor G. Miller (Proposer) Councillor F. Miller (Seconder)

Signed by:-

Councillor C. Rowntree Councillor P. Stewart Councillor D.E. Snowdon

Councillor S. Laws Councillor T. Dodds

Councillor K. Mason-Gage

Councillor K. Mason-C Councillor I. Scott Councillor D. Wilson Councillor J. Price Councillor J. Fletcher Councillor P. Walker Councillor P. Smith Councillor L. Farthing
Councillor N. MacKnight
Councillor K. Johnston
Councillor A. Samuels
Councillor K. Chequer
Councillor K. Noble
Councillor J. Heron
Councillor M. Walker
Councillor A. Smith
Councillor L. Williams
Councillor S. Foster