NOTICE OF MOTION

Council Members are asked to consider the undermentioned Motions:-

(i) Notice of Motion – Fuel Poverty

With 1 in 3 Sunderland households thought to be living in fuel poverty this Council instructs the Acting Chief Executive to:-

- Undertake an urgent review of the Council's reserves and contingencies to identify any resources that could be released or re-directed to help the city's most vulnerable residents stay warm this winter.
- 2. Bring forward proposals for both increasing the uptake of home insulation and speeding up its installation.

Councillor L. Martin Councillor L. Walton Councillor J. Walton Councillor S. Leadbitter Councillor A. Morrissey Councillor G.E. Howe Councillor M. Forbes Councillor M. Dixon Councillor R. Francis Councillor Paul Maddison Councillor P.R. Wood Councillor E. Wake Councillor I. Cuthbert Councillor R.S. Vardy Councillor A. Cuthbert Councillor M. Arnott

(ii) Notice of Motion – Northern Rock

In light of the world-wide banking crisis this Council believes the time is right to review Northern Rock's business plan with a view to it remaining as a major North East based financial institution and continuing to serve the interests of its loyal customer base.

Councillor L. Martin Councillor L. Walton Councillor G.E. Howe Councillor J. Walton Councillor M. Dixon Councillor A. Morrissev Councillor Paul Maddison Councillor M. Forbes Councillor R. Francis Councillor S. Leadbitter Councillor P.R. Wood Councillor E. Wake Councillor I. Cuthbert Councillor R.S. Vardy Councillor A. Cuthbert Councillor M. Arnott

(iii) Notice of Motion – Minimum Wage

Following the tenth anniversary of the introduction of the legislation granting the legal right to a minimum wage, this Council wishes to place on record its appreciation to the Labour Government for the social and economic benefits which have subsequently accrued to the City of Sunderland.

Councillor R. Wares Councillor B. Charlton (Proposer) Councillor M. Mordey (Seconder) Councillor N. Wright Councillor P. Watson Councillor A. Wilson Councillor M. Speding Councillor S. Watson Councillor J. Blackburn Councillor S. Old Councillor E. Timmins Councillor P. Gibson Councillor P. Stewart Councillor P. Tye Councillor P. Smith Councillor E. Gibson Councillor D.E. Snowdon Councillor D.G. Errington Councillor F. Anderson Councillor D. Forbes Councillor H. Trueman Councillor R. Symonds Councillor E. Ball Councillor D. Richardson Councillor R.D. Tate Councillor C. Shattock Councillor P. Walker Councillor R. Heron Councillor R.E. Copeland Councillor J. Scott Councillor T. Wright Councillor J. Kelly Councillor R. Bell Councillor J.E. Fletcher