APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES – CHILDREN, YOUNG PEOPLE AND LEARNING SCRUTINY COMMITTEE – CO-OPTED MEMBERS

Report of the Chief Solicitor

1.0 Introduction

1.1 The purpose of this report is to consider the co-opted membership on the Children, Young People and Learning Scrutiny Committee.

2.0 Non-Voting Co-opted Membership

- 2.1 Members will recall that the Council, at its Annual Meeting in May 2009, appointed Councillors and voting co-opted Members to the Children, Young People and Learning Scrutiny Committee but agreed to defer consideration of the non-voting co-opted membership to a later date.
- 2.2 At its meeting on 15th October the Committee considered its nominations for non-voting co-opted members and agreed to recommend Council to approve the under mentioned nominations to the Committee: -

Non-Voting Representatives:-

2 Teacher representatives comprising one Primary and one Secondary holding appointments under the Local Education Authority	Mrs M. Harrop (Primary) Mr H. Brown (Secondary)
1 Representative from the City of Sunderland College	Mr S. Laverick
1 Representative from the University of Sunderland	Professor G. Holmes
1 Person who is a Chairman of Governors of a school maintained by the Council	Mrs. D. Butler
1 Representative of the Sunderland Community Matters	Mrs. P. Burn
1 Representative of non-teaching employees in schools and social care	Ms. A. Johnson

3.0 Voting Co-opted Membership

3.1 The Council is asked to note the resignation of one of the three parent Governor representatives, Mrs M. Carr, and to approve the nomination of Mrs H. Kelly as the replacement voting co-opted member.

4.0 Recommendations:

4.1 The Council is therefore recommended to approve the nominations for coopted membership to the Children, Young People and Learning Scrutiny Committee as set out in paragraphs 2.2 and 3.1 above.