Sunderland City Council

At an EXTRAORDINARY MEETING of SUNDERLAND CITY COUNCIL held in the CIVIC CENTRE on TUESDAY 10 JUNE 2014 at the conclusion of the Annual Meeting of the Council.

Present: The Mayor (Councillor S. Porthouse) in the Chair

The Deputy Mayor (Councillor B. Curran)

Councillors Allan Fletcher Martin, L Thompson

Trueman, D. Miller. F Allen Forbes Trueman, H. Miller, G Anderson Galbraith Turton, M. Atkinson Gallagher Mordey Gibson, E. Padgett Turton. W. Ball Gibson, P. Scott Wakefield Bell Blackburn Waller Gofton Shattock Copeland Smith. D. Walker Jackson Cummings Smith. P. Watson, P. Kay Dixon, D. Snowdon, D. Watson, S. Kelly Dixon, M. Lauchlan Snowdon, D.E. Williams Errington Lawson Speding Wilson, A. Stewart Essl Leadbitter Wiper Farthing Taylor Wright, T.H. Marshall

The Notice convening the meeting was read.

Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were submitted to the meeting on behalf of Councillors Davison, Ellis, Emerson, Farr, Francis, Foster, McClennan, MacKnight, T. Martin, Price, Scanlan, Tye, D. Wilson, Wood, N. Wright and Scaplehorn.

The Mayor extended a warm welcome to all present at the meeting.

Honorary Aldermen of the City – Mr Michael Leslie Arnott, Mr Mark Greenfield, Mrs Mary Smith and Mr James Walker – Report of the Chief Executive

The Chief Executive submitted a report (copy circulated) inviting the Council to formally confer the title of Honorary Alderman of the City of Sunderland upon Mr. Michael Leslie Arnott, Mr. Mark Greenfield, Mrs. Mary Smith and Mr. James Walker in recognition of their eminent service to the Council as past councillors.

It was then moved by Councillor L. Martin, and duly seconded by Councillor Wiper, that that the Council formally confer the title of Honorary Alderman of the City upon Mr. Michael Leslie Arnott. On being put to the meeting the motion was unanimously agreed and it was:-

7. RESOLVED that in pursuance of the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 the Council do confer the title of Honorary Alderman of the City on former Councillor, Mr. Michael Leslie Arnott, in recognition of his eminent service to the Council and to the people of the city of Sunderland.

Mr. Arnott then signed the Roll of Honorary Aldermen of the City.

The Mayor then presented Mr. Arnott with a Badge of Office.

Mr. Arnott responded appropriately.

It was then moved by Councillor P. Watson, and duly seconded by Councillor L. Martin, that that the Council formally confer the title of Honorary Alderman of the City upon Mr. Mark Greenfield. On being put to the meeting the motion was unanimously agreed and it was:-

8. RESOLVED that in pursuance of the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 the Council do confer the title of Honorary Alderman of the City on former Councillor, Mr. Mark Greenfield, in recognition of his eminent service to the Council and to the people of the city of Sunderland.

Mr. Greenfield then signed the Roll of Honorary Aldermen of the City.

The Mayor then presented Mr. Greenfield with a Badge of Office.

Mr. Greenfield responded appropriately.

It was then moved by Councillor Mordey, and duly seconded by Councillor Williams, that the Council formally confer the title of Honorary Alderman of the City upon Mrs. Mary Smith. On being put to the meeting the motion was unanimously agreed and it was:-

9. RESOLVED that in pursuance of the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 the Council do confer the title of Honorary Alderman of the City on former Councillor, Mrs. Mary Smith, in recognition of her eminent service to the Council and to the people of the city of Sunderland.

Mrs. Smith then signed the Roll of Honorary Aldermen of the City.

The Mayor then presented Mrs. Smith with a Badge of Office.

Mrs. Smith responded appropriately.

It was then moved by Councillor Kelly, and duly seconded by Councillor Fletcher, that the Council formally confer the title of Honorary Alderman of the City upon Mr. James Walker. On being put to the meeting the motion was unanimously agreed and it was:-

10. RESOLVED that t in pursuance of the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 the Council do confer the title of Honorary Alderman of the City on former Councillor, Mr. James Walker, in recognition of his eminent service to the Council and to the people of the city of Sunderland.

Mr. Walker then signed the Roll of Honorary Aldermen of the City.

The Mayor then presented Mr. Walker with a Badge of Office.

Mr. Walker responded appropriately.

The Mayor then thanked everyone for their attendance and closed the meeting.

(Signed) S. PORTHOUSE, Mayor.