

CITY HALL, SUNDERLAND 4 January 2022

TO THE MEMBERS OF SUNDERLAND CITY COUNCIL

YOU ARE SUMMONED TO ATTEND AN EXTRAORDINARY MEETING of Sunderland City Council to be held at the BEACON OF LIGHT, Stadium Way, Monkwearmouth, Sunderland, SR5 1SN on THURSDAY 13 JANUARY 2022 at 6.00 p.m. at which it is proposed to consider and transact the following business:-

- 1. To read the Notice convening the meeting.
- 2. Receipt of Declarations of Interest (if any).
- 3. Apologies.
- 4. Freedom of the City Sunderland Association Football Club 1973 FA Cup Winning Team Members Report of the Chief Executive (copy herewith).

PATRICK MELIA, CHIEF EXECUTIVE.

Note it is intended that the meeting will be livestreamed for the public to view on the Council's YouTube channel at https://youtu.be/bh3rAl1d_8k

Report

FREEDOM OF THE CITY – SUNDERLAND ASSOCIATION FOOTBALL CLUB 1973 FA CUP WINNING TEAM MEMBERS

Report of the Chief Executive

At its meeting on 18 November 2020, the Council agreed to the conferring of the Honorary Freedom of the City upon the Sunderland Association Football Club 1973 FA Cup winning team members and that an Extraordinary Meeting of the Council be convened at which to hold the formal ceremony.

The Council is, therefore, invited to formally confer the Honorary Freedom of the City upon the Sunderland Association Football Club 1973 FA Cup winning team members:

- Jackie Ashurst
- Brian Chambers
- Ronald George "Ron" Guthrie
- Victor Lewis "Vic" Halom
- Michael Frederick "Micky" Horswill
- William "Billy" Hughes (posthumous award)
- Robert "Bobby" Kerr
- John Lathan
- Richard Philip "Dick" Malone
- Mick McGiven
- Richard Ernest "Ritchie" Pitt
- John Ian Porterfield (posthumous award)
- John Tones
- Dennis Tueart
- David Vernon "Dave" Watson
- David Young

by passing the following resolution, namely:-

- (i) that in pursuance of the provisions of Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972 the Council do confer the Honorary Freedom of the City upon the Sunderland Association Football Club 1973 FA Cup winning team members:
 - Jackie Ashurst
 - Brian Chambers
 - Ronald George "Ron" Guthrie
 - Victor Lewis "Vic" Halom
 - Michael Frederick "Micky" Horswill
 - William "Billy" Hughes (posthumous award)
 - Robert "Bobby" Kerr
 - John Lathan
 - Richard Philip "Dick" Malone

- Mick McGiven
- Richard Ernest "Ritchie" Pitt
- John Ian Porterfield (posthumous award)
- John Tones
- Dennis Tueart
- David Vernon "Dave" Watson
- David Young

to recognise their achievement and the enduring pride and respect that the people of Sunderland hold for the team.