

TYNE AND WEAR FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY

Item No 09

MEETING: 21st JANUARY 2013

SUBJECT: MEMBER LINKS WITH COMMUNITY FIRE STATIONS

REPORT OF THE CHIEF FIRE OFFICER

1 INTRODUCTION

1.1 This report sets out for the consideration of Members, a revised list of affiliative links between Members and the Community Fire Stations and departments within Tyne and Wear Fire and Rescue Service.

2 BACKGROUND

- 2.1 At the Fire Authority meeting held on 17 September 2007, a community fire station link scheme was approved, the aim of which was to enhance the liaison and communication between Members of the Fire Authority, and staff on Community Fire Stations and in departments (Minute No. 58/2007 refers), this scheme was also updated by Members on 16th July 2012 (Minute 14/2012 refers).
- 2.2 There are many benefits to be realised from Authority Members having direct contact with employees through visiting Community Fire Stations and departments on a regular basis to meet local staff, discuss current issues and to be appraised on progress with regard to the delivery of the Strategic Community Safety Plan.
- 2.3 In addition, the direct link established by this approach also enhances the communication process by providing for the exchange of local information relevant to the appropriate ward areas and promoting networking between Members, Officers and Local Ward Councillors.
- 2.4 Furthermore, developing the links between Members and specific functional departmental heads in Headquarters and the Technical Services Centre will help to ensure that Members are comprehensively informed of specific work in progress as well as improving communication with staff.
- 2.5 Members may wish to note the change of Station names in appendix A. Members will recall that as a requirement of the Regional Control Centre (RCC) project, appliance call signs were changed to new national call signs. Our community fire station names were also changed to harmonise with the revised national model.

Creating the Safest Community



2.6 As a result of the RCC project being cancelled, and following detailed consultation with staff, the station names have now been changed to better reflect the communities in which they are located.

3 NOMINATION OF LINK MEMBERS/OFFICERS

- 3.1 A revised table of Members Links has been compiled (appendix A), which sets out for consideration the proposed links between each fire station and service departments and Fire Authority Members.
- 3.2 If the list meets with Members approval the officers responsible for each specific location will establish contact and arrange a programme of visits to the link stations/departments.
- 3.3 A typical agenda for such visits would include discussion between officers and the link Member on current issues affecting the locality, scrutinising of the station/departmental plans and their associated targets and issues of concern to staff.
- 3.4 Members may also wish to discuss these matters with colleague Ward Councillors and, when relevant, invite them to attend meetings with Community Fire Station staff as appropriate.

4 FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

4.1 There are no financial implications associated with this specific report.

5 EQUALITY AND FAIRNESS IMPLICATIONS

5.1 There are no equality and fairness implications in respect of this report.

6 HEALTH AND SAFETY IMPLICATIONS

6.1 There are no health and safety implications in respect of this report.

7 **RECOMMENDATIONS**

- 7.1 The Authority is recommended to:
 - a) Consider the report and the proposed link arrangements set out in Appendix A, and;
 - b) endorse, subject to any changes they may wish to make, the links between Members and stations/departments



BACKGROUND PAPERS

The under mentioned Background Papers refer to the subject matter of the above report:

• FA Report 'Members Affiliation with Community Fire Stations' 17 September 2007

Tyne and Wear Fire and Rescue Authority Creating the Safest Community



www.twfire.gov.uk

COMMUNITY FIRE STATION	STATION / DEPARTMENTAL MANAGEMENT	ELECTED MEMBER
West Denton Community Fire Station	District Officer Iveson SM Geoff Hagon Contact – 0191 444 1030	Cllr Hazel Stephenson
Station Alpha (Stn A)	geoff.hagon@twfire.gov.uk	
Newcastle Central Community Fire Station	District Officer Iveson SM Ian Warbrick Contact – 0191 444 1118	Cllr Dipu Ahad
Station Charlie (Stn C)	lan.warbrick@twfire.gov.uk	
Gosforth Community Fire Station	District Officer Iveson SM Paul Tait Contact – 0191 444 1088	Cllr Robert Renton
Station Echo (Stn E)	paul.tait@twfire.gov.uk	
Byker Community Fire Station	District Officer Iveson T/SM Stephen Taylor	Cllr Nick Forbes
Station Foxtrot (Stn F)	Contact – 0191 444 1158 Stephen.taylor@twfire.gov.uk	
Wallsend Community Fire Station	District Officer Escott SM Graeme Hurst	Cllr Tommy Mulvenna
Station Golf (Stn G)	Contact – 0191 444 1214 Graeme.hurst@twfire.gov.uk	
Tynemouth Community Fire Station	District Officer Escott SM Graham Smith Contact – 0191 444 1770	Cllr Shirley Mortimer Cllr Carole Gambling
Station Juliet (Stn J) South Shields Community Fire Station	Scott.carruthers@twfire.gov.uk District Officer Robertson SM Ian Cuskin	Cllr Ms Joanne Bell
Station Kilo (Stn K)	Contact – 0191 444 1823 neville.charlton@twfire.gov.uk	
Hebburn Community Fire Station	District Officer Robertson T/SM Mark Witherspoon Contact – 0191 444 1320	Cllr Eddie McAtominey
Station Tango (Stn T)	mark.witherspoon@twfire.gov.uk	
Fulwell Community Fire Station	District Officer Hall SM Gary Yates Contact – 0191 444 1306	Cllr Ms Joanne Bell Cllr Bob Price
Station Mike (Stn M)	gary.yates@twfire.gov.uk	

Creating the Safest Community

Tyne and Wear Fire and Rescue Authority Creating the Safest Community



	www.twfin	e.gov.uk
Sunderland Central	District Officer Hall	Cllr Mrs Margaret
Community Fire Station	SM Joe Cummings	Forbes
	Contact - 0191 444 1228	
Station November (Stn N)	ian.warne@twfire.gov.uk	
Farringdon Community	District Officer Hall	Cllr Tom Wright
Fire Station	SM Bill Forster	
	Contact – 0191 444 1188	
Station Quebec (Stn Q)	bill.forster@twfire.gov.uk	
Washington Community	District Officer Hall	Cllr Neville Padgett
Fire Station	SM Steve Anderson	
	Contact - 0191 444 1868	
Station Sierra (Stn S)	andy.lillford@twfire.gov.uk	
Rainton Bridge Community	District Officer Hall	Cllr Neville Padgett
Fire Station	SM Bill Forster	Cllr Tom Wright
	Contact – 0191 444 1808	om rom ringht
Station Hotel (Stn H)	joe.cummings@twfire.gov.uk	
Gateshead Community	District Officer Gerrard	Cllr Peter Mole
Fire Station	SM Jeff Wilkinson	
	Contact – 0191 444 1418	
Station Victor (Stn V)	jeff.wilkinson@twfire.gov.uk	
Birtley Community Fire	District Officer Gerrard	Cllr Christopher Ord
Station:	SM Jon Gray	
	Contact – 0191 444 1896	
Station Whiskey (Stn W)	jon.gray@twfire.gov.uk	
Swalwell Community Fire	District Officer Gerrard	Cllr Gary Haley
Station	T/SM Keith Matthews	
	(SM Peter Mudie) Contact – 0191 444 1448	
Station Yankee (Stn Y)	peter.mudie@twfire.gov.uk	
	peter.mudie@twiire.gov.uk	
Chopwell Community Fire	District Officer Gerrard	Cllr Gary Haley
Station	T/SM Keith Matthews	
	(SM Peter Mudie)	
	Contact – 0191 444 1448	
Station Zulu (Stn Z)	peter.mudie@twfire.gov.uk	
Service Headquarters	AM Alan Robson	Cllr Nick Forbes
	Contact – 0191 444 1619	Cllr Tom Wright
Mehiliping and Operated	alan.robson@twfire.gov.uk	Olly Niels Fasher
Mobilising and Control	GM Sue Cameron Contact – 0191 444 1041	Cllr Nick Forbes
	sue.cameron@twfire.gov.uk	
L	sue.cameron@twine.yov.uk	<u> </u>

NOT PROTECTIVELY MARKED