

TYNE AND WEAR FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY

Item No 4

MEETING: 21st JULY 2014

SUBJECT: MEMBER LINKS WITH COMMUNITY FIRE STATIONS

REPORT OF THE CHIEF FIRE OFFICER

1 INTRODUCTION

1.1 This report sets out for the consideration of Members, a revised list of links between Members and the Community Fire Stations and departments within Tyne and Wear Fire and Rescue Service.

2 BACKGROUND

- 2.1 At the Fire Authority meeting held on 17 September 2007, a community fire station link scheme was approved, the aim of which was to enhance the liaison and communication between Members of the Fire Authority, and staff on Community Fire Stations and in departments (Minute No. 58/2007 refers), this scheme was also updated by Members on 21th January 2013. (Minute No. 62/2013 refers)
- 2.2 There are many benefits to be realised from Authority Members having direct contact with employees through visiting Community Fire Stations and departments on a regular basis to meet local staff, discuss current issues and to be appraised on progress with regard to the delivery of the Strategic Community Safety Plan.
- 2.3 In addition, the direct link established by this approach also enhances the communication process by providing for the exchange of local information relevant to the appropriate ward areas and promoting networking between Members, Officers and Local Ward Councillors.
- 2.4 Furthermore, developing the links between Members and specific functional departmental heads in Headquarters and the Technical Services Centre will help to ensure that Members are comprehensively informed of specific work in progress as well as improving communication with staff.

3 NOMINATION OF LINK MEMBERS/OFFICERS

3.1 A revised table of Members Links has been compiled (appendix A), which sets out for consideration the proposed links between each fire station and service departments and Fire Authority Members.

Creating the Safest Community



- 3.2 If the list meets with Members approval the officers responsible for each specific location will establish contact and arrange a programme of visits to the link stations/departments.
- 3.3 A typical agenda for such visits would include discussion between officers and the link Member on current issues affecting the locality, scrutinising of the station/departmental plans and their associated targets and issues of concern to staff.
- 3.4 Members may also wish to discuss these matters with colleague Ward Councillors and, when relevant, invite them to attend meetings with Community Fire Station staff as appropriate.

4 FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

4.1 There are no financial implications associated with this specific report.

5 EQUALITY AND FAIRNESS IMPLICATIONS

5.1 There are no equality and fairness implications in respect of this report.

6 HEALTH AND SAFETY IMPLICATIONS

6.1 There are no health and safety implications in respect of this report.

7 **RECOMMENDATIONS**

- 7.1 The Authority is recommended to:
 - a) Consider the report and the proposed link arrangements set out in Appendix A, and;
 - b) endorse, subject to any changes they may wish to make, the links between Members and stations/departments

BACKGROUND PAPERS

The under mentioned Background Papers refer to the subject matter of the above report:

• FA Report 'Members Affiliation with Community Fire Stations' 17 September 2007

COMMUNITY FIRE STATION	STATION / DEPARTMENTAL MANAGEMENT	ELECTED MEMBER
West Denton Community Fire Station Station Alpha (Stn A)	District Officer Iveson SM Paul Tait Contact – 0191 444 1030 paul.tait@twfire.gov.uk	Cllr Hazel Stephenson
Newcastle Central Community Fire Station Station Charlie (Stn C)	District Officer Iveson SM Geoff Hagon Contact – 0191 444 1118 Geoff.hagon@twfire.gov.uk	Cllr David Stockdale
Gosforth Community Fire Station Station Echo (Stn E)	District Officer Iveson SM Paul Tait Contact – 0191 444 1088 paul.tait@twfire.gov.uk	Cllr Robert Renton
Byker Community Fire Station Station Foxtrot (Stn F)	District Officer Iveson SM David Leach Contact – 0191 444 1158 David.leach@twfire.gov.uk	Cllr Nick Forbes
Wallsend Community Fire Station Station Golf (Stn G)	District Officer Clark SM Graeme Hurst Contact – 0191 444 1770 Graeme.hurst@twfire.gov.uk	Cllr John Harrison
Tynemouth Community Fire Station Station Juliet (Stn J)	District Officer Clark SM Graeme Hurst Contact – 0191 444 1770 Graeme.hurst@twfire.gov.uk	Cllr Shirley Mortimer Cllr Carole Burdis
South Shields Community Fire Station Station Kilo (Stn K)	District Officer Forster SM Ian Cuskin Contact – 0191 444 1823 Ian.cuskin@twfire.gov.uk	Cllr Joanne Bell
Hebburn Community Fire Station Station Tango (Stn T)	District Officer Forster SM Ian Cuskin Contact – 0191 444 1823 Ian.cuskin@twfire.gov.uk	Cllr Jim Perry
Fulwell Community Fire Station Station Mike (Stn M)	District Officer Hall SM Steve Graham Contact – 0191 444 1868 Steve.graham@twfire.gov.uk	Cllr Ms Joanne Bell Cllr Bob Price

Sunderland Central	District Officer Hall	Cllr Margaret Forbes
Community Fire Station	SM Joe Cummings	Cllr Bob Price
	Contact – 0191 444 1228	
Station November (Stn N)	joe.cummings@twfire.gov.uk	
Farringdon Community	District Officer Hall	Cllr Tom Wright
Fire Station	SM Jeff Wilkinson	
Station Quahaa (Str. Q)	Contact – 0191 444 1188	
Station Quebec (Stn Q)	Jeff.wilkinson@twfire.gov.uk	
Washington Community	District Officer Hall	Cllr Neville Padgett
Fire Station	SM Steve Graham	en renner sagen
	Contact – 0191 444 1868	
Station Sierra (Stn S)	steve.graham@twfire.gov.uk	
Rainton Bridge Community	District Officer Hall	Cllr Neville Padgett
Fire Station	SM Jeff Wilkinson	Cllr Tom Wright
Station Hotel (Stn H)	Contact – 0191 444 1808 Jeff.wilkinson@twfire.gov.uk	
	Jen.wikiiison@twiie.gov.uk	
Gateshead Community	District Officer Escott	Cllr Peter Mole
Fire Station	SM Ian Warne	
	Contact – 0191 444 1418	
Station Victor (Stn V)	lan.warne@twfire.gov.uk	
Birtley Community Fire	District Officer Escott	Cllr Christopher Ord
Station:	SM Ian Warne	
	Contact – 0191 444 1418	
Station Whiskey (Stn W)	lan.warne@twfire.gov.uk	
Swalwell Community Fire	District Officer Escott	Cllr Gary Haley
Station	SM Gary Yates	
	Contact – 0191 444 1448	
Station Yankee (Stn Y)	Gary.yates@twfire.gov.uk	
Chopwell Community Fire	District Officer Escott	Cllr Gary Haley
Station	SM Gary Yates	,,
	Contact - 0191 444 1448	
	Gary.yates@twfire.gov.uk	
Station Zulu (Stn Z)		
Service Headquarters	AM Alan Robson	Cllr Nick Forbes
	Contact – 0191 444 1619	Cllr Tom Wright
	alan.robson@twfire.gov.uk	