

At a meeting of the EDUCATION (APPOINTMENT OF GOVERNORS) PANEL held in remotely on MONDAY 12 October 2020 at 5.45 p.m.

Present:-

Councillor Williams in the Chair

Councillors S. Foster, E. Gibson, Greener, McKeith, Scanlan and G. Smith

Also Present:-

Roslyn Lee, Governor Support Officer Hazel Mackel, Executive Governance Services Team Leader

Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

Apologies for Absence

There were no apologies for absence submitted.

Minutes

1. RESOLVED that the minutes of the last meeting of the Panel held on 15 June 2020 (copy circulated) be confirmed as a correct record.

Consideration of Candidates for Inclusion on the Approved List

The Director of Children's Services submitted a report on the following applications received for inclusion on the list of approved candidates for appointment as Local Authority Governors:-

Councillor J.C. Doyle Seaburn Dene Primary School Councillor D. Turner Hetton Lyons Nursery School

Mr T. Newton Seaburn Dene Primary School/schools in the Fulwell area

(For copy report– see original minutes).

Following consideration of the applications, it was:-

2. RESOLVED that the Director of Children's Services be authorised to include Councillors Doyle and Turner together with Mr T. Newton on the list of approved candidates for appointment as Local Authority Governors.

Governing Board Nominations

The Director of Children's Services submitted a report and a supplementary report seeking the nomination of the following approved candidates as below:-

Councillor J.C. Doyle Seaburn Dene Primary School Councillor D. Turner Hetton Lyons Nursery School

(For copy report and supplementary – see original minutes).

Consideration having been given to the reports, it was:-

3. RESOLVED that the nominations detailed within the reports be approved.

(Signed) L. WILLIAMS, Chair.