Item No. 4

TYNE AND WEAR FIRE AND RESCUE AUTHORITY MEETING: 16 SEPTEMBER 2019

REVISIED POLITICAL BALANCE AND APPOINTMENT TO COMMITTEES 2019/2020

REPORT OF THE DEPUTY CLERK TO THE AUTHORITY

BACKGROUND

As Members will recall, at the Annual Meeting of the Authority on 10th June, 2019, an interim appointment (Mrs Ruth Durham) was noted for the Northumbria Police and Crime Commissioner vacancy on Tyne and Wear Fire and Rescue Authority, following the resignation of Dame Vera Baird QC.

As a result of the Police and Crime Commissioner Election on 18th July, Cara Kim McGuinness has now been appointed as the Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) Representative.

POLITICAL BALANCE AND APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

The Police and Crime Commissioner, being a Member of the Authority, has given notice that she wishes to be treated as a Member of the Labour Group, for the purposes of the Local Government Act, 1989.

The political balance as at June 2019, is attached at Appendix 1a, for information purposes only.

Given the request of the PCC to join the Labour Group, the political balance has been recalculated at 14.2.1 and gives a distribution of seats as per Appendix 1b. Where changes have been made to Committees these are highlighted in red. All other committees/appointments remain unchanged.

A copy of the 2019/20 composition of the Authority's Committees and Sub-Committees together with a list of the Authority's spokespersons for 2019/20, as approved at the Annual Meeting of the Authority, is appended at Appendix 2 for information only.

Attached at Appendix 3 are Committees which require an appointment to be made.

RECOMMENDATIONS

The Authority is recommended to: -

- (i) note the membership of the Cara Kim McGuiness, Police and Crime Commissioner; and
- (ii) consider the appointment of a Labour Group Member to the Governance, Human Resources and Appointments Committees.

BACKGROUND PAPERS

The undermentioned Background Papers refer to the subject matter of the above report:

No papers.

Appendices 1a and 1b

APPENDIX 1a

Allocation of Committee Seats - June 2019

Authority Composition		<i>Lab</i> o 13	-	Liberal 2	Dem	Un-Grouped members (Conservative and PCC) 2	totals check
Committee	total seats	decimal	seats	decimal	seats	spare seats	
Governance#	6	4.5882	4	0.7059	1	1	6.2941
Policy and Performance	6	4.5882	5	0.7059	1		5.2941
Human Resources	8	6.1176	6	0.9412	1	1	8.0588
Appointments	7	5.3529	5	0.8235	1	1	7.1765
Disciplinary Appeals	5	3.8235	4	0.5882	0	1	5.4118
Personnel Appeals*	6	4.5882	5	0.7059	0	1	6.2941
Emergency	3	2.2941	2	0.3529	1		2.6471
Totals	41	31.3529	31	4.8235	5		41.1765 41.1765

#Also has 3 Independent Members

APPENDIX 1b

Un-Grouped

Allocation of Committee Seats – September 2019

		Labo	our	Liberal	Dem	members (Conservative)	totals check	
Authority Composition		14		2		1	17	
Committee	total seats	decimal	seats	decimal	seats	spare seats		
Governance#	6	4.9412	5	0.7059	1		5.6471	6
Policy and Performance	6	4.9412	5	0.7059	1		5.6471	6
Human Resources	8	6.5882	7	0.9412	1		7.5294	8
Appointments	7	5.7647	6	0.8235	1		6.5882	7
Disciplinary Appeals	5	4.1176	4	0.5882	0	1	5.7059	5
Personnel Appeals*	6	4.9412	5	0.7059	0	1	6.6471	6
Emergency	3	2.4706	2	0.3529	1		2.8235	3
Totals	41	33.7647	34	4.8235	5	2	40.5882 40.5882	41

#Also has 3 Independent Members

^{*}Should not be Members of Human Resources Committee

COMMITTEE AND SUB-COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP 2019/2020

(A) Authority Committees and Sub Committees

(i) Governance Committee (6 seats – balance 4:1:1)

Independent Chairman (Mr. G. Cook)
Independent Member (Mr. M. Knowles)
Independent Member (Ms. G. Goodwill)

Councillor Burdis (Lab.)
Councillor Dodds (Lab.)
Councillor Flynn (Lab.)
Councillor Kilgour (Lab.)
Councillor Woodwark (Lib. Dem.)

Councillor Oliver

(ii) Policy and Performance Committee (6 seats – balance 5:1:0)

Councillor Dodds (Lab.)
Councillor Forbes (Lab.)
Councillor Pickard (Lab.)
Councillor Purvis (Lab.)
Councillor Samuels (Lab.)
Councillor Duggan (Lib. Dem.)

Chair – Councillor Forbes Vice Chair – Councillor Dodds

(iii) Human Resources Committee (8 seats – balance 6:1:1)

Councillor Dodds (Lab.)
Councillor Flynn (Lab.)
Councillor Haley (Lab.)
Councillor Pickard (Lab.)
Councillor Stephenson (Lab.)
Councillor Taylor (Lab.)

Councillor Woodwark (Lib. Dem.)
Vacancy (Ungrouped Member)

Chair - Councillor Haley

Vice Chair - Councillor Pickard

(iv) Appointments Committee (7 seats – balance 5:1:1)

Councillor Forbes (Lab.)
Councillor Haley (Lab.)
Councillor Pickard (Lab.)
Councillor Stephenson (Lab.)
Councillor Taylor (Lab.)
Councillor Woodwark (Lib Dem.)

Councillor Oliver

Chair – Councillor Taylor Vice Chair – Councillor Forbes

(v) **Disciplinary Appeals Committee** (5 seats – balance 4:0:1)

Chair of the Authority
Vice-Chair of the Authority
Chair of Human Resources Committee
Labour Member
(Councillor Taylor)
(Councillor Forbes)
(Councillor Haley)
(Councillor Hunter)*

Ungrouped Member Vacancy

Chair – Councillor Taylor Vice Chair – Councillor Forbes

(vi) Personnel Appeals Committee (6 seats – balance 5:0:1)

(N.B. Should not be Members of Human Resources Committee)

Councillor Burdis(Lab.)Councillor Butler(Lab.)Councillor Forbes(Lab.)Councillor Kilgour(Lab.)Councillor Purvis(Lab.)

Councillor Oliver

Chair – Councillor Forbes Vice Chair – Councillor Burdis

^{*}with effect from 20 June 2019

(vii) Emergency Committee (3 seats – balance 2:1:0)

Chair of the Authority (Councillor Taylor)
Vice-Chair (Councillor Forbes)
Liberal Democrat Member (Councillor Woodwark)

Chair – Councillor Taylor Vice Chair – Councillor Forbes

(ix) Pension Board of Tyne and Wear Fire Authority

Employer Representatives

Two Principal Officers or appropriate Grey Book Managers – Alan Robson and Tony Markwell

Councillor Flynn (substitute Councillor Purvis)

Member Representatives

Three Member representatives will be nominated by the relevant representative body or organised employee group and appointed by the Authority – Russ King, Chris Moore and Vacancy

(B) Appointment of Spokespersons

Nominations for spokesmen are required for the purpose of answering questions from Members of the Constituent Councils on the discharge of the Authority's functions: -

Gateshead - Councillor Haley
Newcastle - Councillor Forbes
North Tyneside - Councillor Burdis
South Tyneside - Councillor Flynn
Sunderland - Councillor Taylor

(C) Lead Member Roles

Nominations are required for Lead Members and Support Members:

(i) Community Engagement and Partnerships

Lead Member - Councillor Burdis Support Member - Councillor Kilgour

(ii) **Diversity and Equality**

Lead Member - Councillor Haley

Support Member - Councillor Stephenson

(iii) Performance Management

Lead Member - Councillor Taylor Support Member - Councillor Forbes

(D) Local Government Association

Councillor Taylor Councillor Dodds

(E) Association of Metropolitan Fire and Rescue Authorities (AMFRA)

Councillor Taylor Councillor Dodds Substitute Member – Councillor Haley

COMMITTEE AND SUB-COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP 2019/2020

(A) Authority Committees and Sub Committees

(i) Governance Committee (6 seats – balance 5:1:0)

Independent Chairman	(Mr. G. Cook)
Independent Member	(Mr. M. Knowles)
Independent Member	(Ms. G. Goodwill)
Councillor Burdis	(Lab.)
Councillor Dodds	(Lab.)
Councillor Flynn	(Lab.)
Councillor Kilgour	(Lab.)
Vacancy	(Lab.)
Councillor Woodwark	(Lib. Dem.)

(ii) Human Resources Committee (8 seats – balance 7:1:0)

Councillor Dodds	(Lab.)
Councillor Flynn	(Lab.)
Councillor Haley	(Lab.)
Councillor Pickard	(Lab.)
Councillor Stephenson	(Lab.)
Councillor Taylor	(Lab.)
Vacancy	(Lab.)
Councillor Woodwark	(Lib. Dem.)

Chair – Councillor Haley Vice Chair – Councillor Pickard

(iii) Appointments Committee (7 seats – balance 6:1:0)

Councillor Forbes	(Lab.)
Councillor Haley	(Lab.)
Councillor Pickard	(Lab.)
Councillor Stephenson	(Lab.)
Councillor Taylor	(Lab.)
Vacancy	(Lab.)
Councillor Woodwark	(Lib Dem.)

Chair – Taylor Vice Chair – Forbes