

CIVIC CENTRE, SUNDERLAND. 29 May 2014.

TO THE MEMBERS OF SUNDERLAND CITY COUNCIL

YOU ARE SUMMONED TO ATTEND AN EXTRAORDINARY MEETING of Sunderland City Council to be held in the Council Chamber, Civic Centre, Sunderland, on TUESDAY 10 JUNE 2014 at 7.00 p.m. or at the conclusion of the Annual Council meeting, at which it is proposed to consider and transact the following business:-

- 1. To read the Notice convening the meeting.
- 2. Receipt of Declarations of Interest (If any).
- 3. Apologies.
- 4. Honorary Aldermen of the City Mr. Michael Leslie Arnott, Mr. Mark Greenfield, Mrs. Mary Smith and Mr. James Walker Report of the Chief Executive.

CHIEF EXECUTIVE

Contact: Hazel Mackel, Governance Services Team Leader. Tel: 0191 561 1042

Email: hazel.mackel@sunderland.gov.uk

Information contained in this agenda can be made available in other languages and formats on request.

Reports

Page	2	of	4
. 490	_	٠.	•

COUNCIL 10 JUNE 2014

HONORARY ALDERMEN OF THE CITY – MR MICHAEL LESLIE ARNOTT, MR MARK GREENFIELD, MRS MARY SMITH and MR JAMES WALKER

Report of the Chief Executive

Under the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council may, by resolution passed by not less than two-thirds of the councillors, confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent service to the Council as past councillors.

At its meeting on 25 September 2013 the Council agreed arrangements for conferring the title of Honorary Alderman of the City of Sunderland upon persons who have rendered such service.

In accordance with those arrangements the following former Councillors have been nominated, in recognition of their eminent service to the Council and to the people of the city of Sunderland;

> Mr. Michael Leslie Arnott, Mr. Mark Greenfield, Mrs. Mary Smith and Mr. James Walker

The Council is, therefore, invited to formally confer the title of Honorary Alderman of the City upon the former Councillors so nominated by passing the following resolutions; namely:-

(i) that in pursuance of the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 the Council do confer the title of Honorary Alderman of the City on former Councillors Mr. Michael Arnott, Mr. Mark Greenfield, Mrs. Mary Smith and Mr. James Walker, in recognition of their eminent service to the Council and to the people of the city of Sunderland.

Chief Executive.

Page	4 (of	4
. age		٥.	•