## **Sunderland City Council**

At an EXTRAORDINARY MEETING of SUNDERLAND CITY COUNCIL held in the CIVIC CENTRE on WEDNESDAY 25 NOVEMBER 2009 at 5.15pm.

**Present:** The Mayor (Councillor D Richardson) in the Chair

The Deputy Mayor (Councillor T Martin)

Councillors	Allan Anderson Arnott Ball Bell Blackburn Copeland Cuthbert M. Dixon Ellis Fletcher D Forbes	M. Forbes E Gibson P Gibson Gofton A Hall Kelly Paul Maddison L Martin Miller Mordey O'Connor I Richardson	Rolph Shattock D Smith M Smith P Smith Snowdon Speding Stewart Tate Timmins Tye	Wakefield Walker Wares P Watson S Watson Whalen A Wilson D Wilson Wood N Wright T Wright
	D Folbes	i Richardson		

The Notice convening the meeting was read.

## **Apologies for Absence**

Apologies for absence were submitted to the meeting on behalf of Councillors Barkess, Chamberlin, P Dixon, Errington, G Hall, Heron, Leadbitter, Peter Maddison, Morrissey, Old, Oliver, J. Scott, Trueman, Wake, J Walton, L Walton and A Wright.

## **New Executive Arrangements**

The Chief Executive and Chief Solicitor submitted a joint report (copy circulated) requesting the Council to consider making a resolution to change the Council's governance arrangements from 10 May 2010.

The Council had considered a report at its meeting held on 30 September 2009 and had agreed that the proposals for a new style Leader and Cabinet executive model, which had been drawn up after consultation with local government electors and other interested persons, be advertised as required by the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007. The Council had also agreed to hold an extraordinary meeting in November 2009 to formally adopt the proposals.

The Leader of the Council, seconded by Councillor Anderson, moved that the recommendations contained in the report be approved.

Upon being put to the vote, the recommendations were approved with 40 Members voting in favour thereof, viz;-

The Mayor (Councillor D. Richardson) in the Chair The Deputy Mayor (Councillor T. Martin)

Councillors	Allan	P. Gibson	M Smith	Walker
	Anderson	Gofton	P Smith	Wares
	Ball	A Hall	Snowdon	P Watson
	Bell	Kelly	Speding	S Watson
	Blackburn	Miller	Stewart	Whalen
	Copeland	Mordey	Tate	A Wilson
	Ellis	O'Connor	Timmins	D Wilson
	Fletcher	Rolph	Tye	N Wright
	D Forbes	Shattock	Wakefield	T Wright
	E Gibson	D Smith		· ·

And 8 Members voting against, viz:-

Councillors	Arnott	M Dixon	Paul Maddison	I Richardson
	Cuthbert	M Forbes	L Martin	Wood

The Council therefore:-

**RESOLVED** that:-

- (i) the new style Leader and Cabinet Executive model executive arrangements as defined by the 2007 Act and in the form set out in the appendix to the report be adopted; and
- (ii) the new form of executive arrangements be operative from 10 May 2010.

(Signed) D RICHARDSON Mayor