Skip to main content

Planning and Highways (West) Committee

The Committee covers the western area of the City comprising the Copt Hill, Hetton, Houghton, Shiney Row, Washington Central, Washington East, Washington North, Washington South and Washington West wards. The Committee decides on those planning applications made in its area of the City that have not been delegated to the Executive Director of City Development to determine. It also considers and recommends action to be taken where statutory representations or objections have been received in respect of any Orders proposed by the Executive Director of City Development under the Highways Act 1980, the Road Traffic Regulation Act 1984, the Town and Country Planning Act 1990 or the New Roads and Streetworks Act 1991.
10 June 2020 - onwards
  • Members
  • Meetings
  • Other Information


Scheduled Meeting DateStart TimeEnd TimeVenueStatusCalendar
Page 2 of 3, Displaying meetings 11 to 20 of 23 meetings found in selected date range
08 June 202117:3019:00Council ChamberOccurred
06 July 202117:3019:00Council ChamberOccurred
26 July 202117:3019:30Rescheduled to Tuesday 31st August 2021Scheduled
03 August 202117:3019:00Rearranged to 26th July 2021 *edit - Business now to be considered on 31st August 2021Scheduled
31 August 202117:3019:30Council ChamberScheduled
07 September 202117:3019:00Council ChamberOccurred
05 October 202117:3019:00Council ChamberOccurred
02 November 202117:3019:00Council ChamberOccurred
30 November 202117:3019:00Council ChamberOccurred
04 January 202217:3019:00City Hall Council ChamberOccurred


PartyNameRoleMembership DatesAttendance
Councillor Paul Donaghy Member 19/05/2021 - current 55%
Liberal democrats
Councillor Heather Fagan Member 10/06/2020 - current 86%
Councillor Len Lauchlan Member 10/06/2020 - current 100%
Labour and Co-operative
Councillor Graeme Miller Vice-Chair 19/05/2021 - current 91%
Councillor Gregory Peacock Member 15/09/2021 - current 100%
Councillor John Price Member 19/05/2021 - current 91%
Councillor Melanie Thornton Chairman 10/06/2020 - current 86%
Councillor James Warne Member 19/05/2021 - current 82%

Other Information