Skip to main content


The Cabinet, also known as the Executive, is the part of the Council which is responsible for most day-to-day decisions. The Leader is appointed by the Council, who then appoints members to the Cabinet. The Cabinet is made up of the Leader, Deputy Leader/Cabinet Secretary and 4 Councillors or "Portfolio Holders". When key decisions are to be discussed or made, these are published in the 28 Day Notification of Publication of Proposed Key Decisions and Executive Decisions insofar as they can be anticipated. If these major decisions are to be discussed with Council Officers at a meeting of the Cabinet, this will generally be open for the public to attend, except where personal or confidential matters are being discussed. The Cabinet has to make decisions which are in line with the Council's overall policies and budget. If it wishes to make a decision which is outside the budget or policy framework, this must be referred to the full City Council to decide.
18 May 2016 - onwards
  • Members
  • Meetings
  • Other Information


Scheduled Meeting DateStart TimeEnd TimeVenueStatusCalendar
Page 7 of 8, Displaying meetings 61 to 70 of 73 meetings found in selected date range
07 December 202110:00TBCCouncil Chamber at City Hall, Plater Way, SunderlandOccurred
11 January 202210:00TBCCouncil Chamber at City Hall, Plater Way, SunderlandOccurred
08 February 202210:00TBC Council Chamber at City Hall, Plater Way, SunderlandOccurred
22 March 202210:00TBCCommittee Room 1, City HallOccurred
09 June 202210:0012:00Committee Room 1Scheduled 
14 July 202210:0012:00Committee Room 1Scheduled 
08 September 202210:0012:00Committee Room 1Scheduled 
13 October 202210:0012:00Committee Room 1Scheduled 
10 November 202210:0012:00Committee Room 1Scheduled 
08 December 202210:0012:00Committee Room 1Scheduled 


PartyNameRoleMembership DatesAttendance
Councillor Kelly Chequer Healthy City Portfolio Holder 05/02/2021 - current 82%
Labour and Co-operative
Councillor Louise Farthing Children, Learning and Skills Portfolio Holder 18/05/2016 - current 92%
Councillor Kevin Johnston Dynamic City Portfolio Holder 17/05/2021 - current 89%
Labour and Co-operative
Councillor Graeme Miller Leader of the Council 18/05/2016 - current 92%
Labour and Co-operative
Councillor Claire Rowntree Deputy Leader of the Council 17/05/2021 - current 78%
Labour and Co-operative
Councillor Paul Stewart Cabinet Secretary 16/05/2018 - current 79%
Councillor Linda Williams Vibrant City Portfolio Holder 01/09/2020 - current 88%

Other Information